Murley, Bickert, and Wallace “Test of Time” wins 2013 Juno Award

Murley, Bickert, and Wallace “Test of Time” has won the 2013 Juno Award in the traditional jazz category.  Thanks to Ed Bickert and Steve Wallace for their wonderful playing and to Barry Elmes for his hard work in bringing these tracks back to the light of day!  I am so pleased that so many people enjoy this recording which is of course very special because of Ed’s masterful presence.

As usual there were a number of strong Canadian Jazz recordings released over the past year.  Other nominees included my U of T colleagues Dave Young and Terry Promane and my good friend Brian Dickinson. Congratulations to all nominees.

New CD release by Murley, Bickert, and Wallace

Cornerstone Records presents Test of Time, a new CD release by Murley, Bickert, and Wallace

  • Mike Murley – tenor saxophone
  • Ed Bickert – guitar
  • Steve Wallace – bass

Formed in 1998 in by saxophonist Mike Murley, this trio’s only previous release Live at the Senator won the 2002 Juno Award for best mainstream jazz album. Test of Time features previously unissued material recorded in January 1999, made even more significant by the fact that it represents a new release featuring the legendary Ed Bickert (who retired from playing professionally in 2001).

Engineered and Mastered by Barry Elmes

Visit the CBC music website to listen to a free stream of selected tracks of this recording:

To order a copy of the CD please visit:

Also available on iTunes

Mike Murley Septet “Still Rollin’” nominated for 2012 Juno Award

Still Rollin’, the latest CD release from Toronto saxophonist Mike Murley, has been nominated for a 2012 Juno Award in the traditional jazz category.  This debut recording for Murley’s septet features the saxophonist’s compositions and arrangements performed by some of Canada’s finest jazz improvisers.

  • Mike Murley – tenor saxophone
  • Tara Davidson – soprano and alto saxophone
  • Kevin Turcotte – trumpet
  • Terry Promane- trombone
  • David Braid – piano
  • Jim Vivian – bass
  • Ted Warren – drums

The CD Still Rollin’ is now available for download at the iTunes store.  It is also available for online and retail distrbution through Cornerstone Records and it’s distributors.  To purchase the CD directly from Cornerstone please click here.

Other Releases

DVD “Solos: the Jazz Sessions” now available

For more information please visit:

Other Recent CD releases:

The Davidson/Murley/Braid Quintet “DMBQ Live” (Opening Day/Universal)

The David Liebman/Mike Murley Quartet “Day and Night” (Cornerstone Records)

Murley/Braid Quartet “Mnemosyne’s March” (Cornerstone Records)
– nominated for a 2007 Juno Award for best mainstream jazz album
– 2007 National Jazz Award for “Acoustic Group of the Year.”

Mike Murley “The Melody lingers On” (CBC records)
– nominated for album of the year at 2007 National Jazz Awards

Mike Murley on CBC records:

“The Melody lingers On” (CBC records), finds the saxophonist’s trio live in concert at the Glenn Gould Studio with a twelve-piece string ensemble conducted by Rick Wilkins. Also featured on the recording are Guido Basso (flugelhorn) and Tara Davidson (saxes) with string arrangements by Murley and guitarist Reg Schwager. This album is available by mail order only. To order please email: [email protected]

Upcoming performances:

for more info, click on “gigs” tab above